Review/ Breaking The Ice by Julie Cross

Published by Entangled Teen Source: ARC From Publisher, Book From Tour Company

Breaking the Ice (Juniper Falls #2)
by Julie Cross
Publication Date:  December 26, 2017
Publisher:  Entangled Teen

The second book in the Juniper Falls series from NY Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Julie Cross, perfect for fans of Miranda Kenneally and Abbi Glines.

Haley Stevenson seems like she’s got it all together: cheer captain, “Princess” of Juniper Falls, and voted Most Likely to Get Things Done. But below the surface, she’s struggling with a less-than-stellar GPA and still reeling from the loss of her first love. Repeating her Civics class during summer school is her chance to Get Things Done, not angst over boys. In fact, she’s sworn them off completely until college.

Fletcher Scott is happy to keep a low profile around Juniper Falls. He’s always been the invisible guy, warming the bench on the hockey team and moonlighting at a job that would make his grandma blush. Suddenly, though, he’s finding he wants more: more time on the ice, and more time with his infuriatingly perfect summer-school study partner.

But leave it to a girl who requires perfection to shake up a boy who’s ready to break all the rules.

I was  thrilled to find out that I was accepted to take part in the blog tour for Julie Cross’s second book Breaking The Ice. I quickly have to thank Entangled Teen and Chapter By Chapter Blog Tour for allowing me to take part.

After reading the first book Off The Ice, I was excited to know that there was more to come and to continue this series. If you follow me on social media you will know that I am a hockey mom to a 14 year old son (Bantam) and a hockey manager for a midget team that my son is a call up for. We have been in the minor hockey world for 6 years now. So getting to read books that are around hockey has been fun to read.

Breaking The Ice takes place in a little town called Juniper Falls in Minnesota where life is centered around hockey. Everyone in Juniper Falls is obsessed with hockey. I think this is a town I need to go to.

Since this is a second book I won’t get too much into. Both books are stand alones in the series but you will get a brief introduction to characters.

Our main characters are Haley and Fletcher. Haley is the Queen Bee of the school. She is captain of the cheerleaders and reigning princess. She is the popular girl at school and her only interest is cheerleading more then she does about school and as luck would have it she is forced to do summer school. Something she isn’t keen on doing. She needs to pass or else. Failing is not an option for her. Its not in her vocabulary.

Now Fletcher is a hockey player who likes to keep his head down. He keeps to himself. When Fletcher’s cousin finds out that Fletcher is going to summer school for extra credit and that he will be with Haley he begs his cousin to put in a good word for him because he has been crushing on Haley. Pretty soon he finds himself seated behind her and being her assignment partner. Thinking this couldn’t work out any better for Cole he agrees. I loved Cole he was too cute.

As Haley and Fletcher begin to work together she realizes that there is more to this  tall dark handsome boy then he lets on and that there is a something mysterious about him. I think she knew he would be the perfect partnery to work with but she soon realizes that if she wants to pass she has to work for it and I think I loved this about Fletcher he didn’t give her the easy way out.

I really enjoyed reading this and its definitely different from the first book. This was a quick read and the perfect one to read during Christmas.

Looking forward to seeing where this series goes.


Speak Your Mind