CD Review/ Heart On My Sleeve by Mary Lambert

  • Band/Artist: Mary Lambert
  • Title: Heart on My Sleeve
  • Date: October 14, 2014
  • Label: Capital Records, LLC

I was thrilled when I was given the chance to do a review for Mary Lambert’s debut cd called Heart On My Sleeve because I first discovered her when she did the song Same Love with Ryan Lewis and Macklemore. She has a beautiful voice.

I wanted to write a pop album that had profound emotional depth and interesting language, while being accessible and catchy,” she explains. “I wanted the songs to be poignant and raw, but I want to hear them on the radio. I like to describe Heart On My Sleeve as a pop album with a conscience.”

I absolutely love this cd. I love each and every song. During my trial period I played it constantly in the house and I have it listed on my Birthday/Christmas wish list.

Mary’s voice is just breath taking. The only word I can think of its powerful.

“I felt like there were a lot of songs coming out about self-empowerment and challenging beauty standards, and I wanted to write a song along those same lines, but in my voice,” she explains. “It’s easy to paint a pretty picture and tell everyone to love themselves, but it’s way more complicated than that. There is so much shame and guilt in our society, and I think it has deprived a lot of people from living fully. We’re all facing battles. We’ve all had someone who has hurt us, so let’s talk about it. I believe vulnerability is what will save the world. I wanted to point the lens at myself in hopes of inspiring others to do the same. This song is my dirty laundry, and that’s actually really freeing. Now I can walk around with accidental pieces of bagel in my bra and eat it anyway.”

There is no way I can pick a favorite out of her songs because each and everyone is fantastic. I do have to say that next to Rick Springfield her version of Jessie’s Girl is amazing. Its a totally different spin on it and in Lambert’s hands, becomes a dark piano ballad with the twist of being sung by a woman about a woman.

I think this would be a fantastic addition to someone’s music collection.

Tracklisting for Heart On My Sleeve:

  1. Secrets
  2. So Far Away
  3. Ribcage (feat. K.Flay)
  4. Dear One
  5. When You Sleep
  6. Chasing the moon
  7. Jessie’s Girl
  8. Monochromatic
  9. Heart On My Sleeve
  10. Wounded Animal
  11. Sum of Our Parts
  12. Sing to Me
  13. Assembly Line
  14. Sum of Out Parts (alternative version)




For more information on Mary, please visit her official site at

* Twitter – @marylambertsing
* YouTube –
* Facebook –

I participated in the Mary Lambert Heart On My Sleeve album review program as a member of One2One Network. I was provided a free album to review but all opinions are my own.