Review/ Haven

Haven by Mary Lindsey
Publication Date: November 7, 2017
Publisher: Entangled Teen

“We all hold a beast inside. The only difference is what form it takes when freed.”

Rain Ryland has never belonged anywhere, He’s use to people judging him for his rough background, his intimidating size, and now, his orphan status. He’s always been on the outside, looking in, and he’s fine with that. Until he moves to New Wurzburg and meets Friederike Burkhart.

Freddie isn’t like normal teen girls, though. And someone wants her dead for it. Freddie warns he’d better stay far away if he wants to stay alive, but Rain’s never been good at running rom trouble. For the first time, Rain has something worth fighting for, worth living for. Worth dying for.

Ancient magic and modern society collide in a sexy, spellbinding romance perfect for fans of C. C. Hunter and Maggie Stiefvater that proves sometimes beauty is the beast…

Thanks to Chapter By Chapter Blog Tours for allowing me to be a part of this tour and for sending me a copy of the book to read.

One of the best things to happen when I sprained my ankle and that I am still recovering is that I can actually spend a little bit more time reading during the day so I am able to get through my commitments of books.

This is a YA paranormal romance and if you follow my blog I don’t tend to read a lot of paranormal romances with the exception to a few authors and books so this was a nice little treat for me. This also had a little bit of a mystery to it and I think that it added to the book and a little history as well. I love when an author gives a little history about the town the book takes place in. I always find it adds more to the story.

Haven is told from the third person and I have to admit I am usually not a fan but it worked with Haven.

Our main character is Rain (love that name) has suddenly lost his mother and is sent to live with his estranged aunt Ruby. He quickly picks up the feeling that something is not right and he can’t pin point what it is exactly. He notices at his new school that a certain group of kids stick themselves and he knows that there is something there. One of the girls in the that groups has gotten his attention and there is something about her that intrigues him. This girl is Friederike (love this name as well) aka Freddy.

Freddy is not your typical girl. She is very unique and she warns Rain to stay away from her but he can’t because something always happens to bring him in. There is something she is hidding that she doesn’t want him to know because it could kill him but Rain being Rain curiousity gets the best of him and it could cost him his life.

I should mention that Rain is like a bad boy that I know a lot of readers like and I know I do as well. He has grown up on the streets, he has problems and it always seems like he is the one in trouble. But deep down he is a sweet guy and he decided he wants to be better then what he was. Can he?

I just have to take a moment to comment on the cover, how pretty is it? I love how simple and inviting it is.

I do have to say that I found the beginning to be a little slow but it gradually picks up and once I hit that point I had a hard time to put the book down.

I really hope there is another book coming out because I would definitely read it. Although I have to admit the author tied everything up in a nice little bow. I am so happy that I got the chance to read this because I don’t know if this would have been a book I would have picked up on my own so I am happy I saw the email for it.

Speak Your Mind

*