Review/ Don’t Try to Find Me

Review/ Don’t Try to Find MeDon't Try To Find Me: A Novel by Holly Brown
Published by Ireland Books on April 2015
Pages: 361
Source: Book From Publisher

When a fourteen-year-old runs away, her parents turn to social media to find her—launching a public campaign that will expose their darkest secrets and change their family forever, in this suspenseful and gripping debut for fans of Reconstructing Amelia and Gone Girl.

Don’t try to find me. Though the message on the kitchen white board is written in Marley’s hand, her mother Rachel knows there has to be some other explanation. Marley would never run away.

As the days pass and it sinks in that the impossible has occurred, Rachel and her husband Paul are informed that the police have “limited resources.” If they want their fourteen-year-old daughter back, they will have to find her themselves. Desperation becomes determination when Paul turns to Facebook and Twitter, and launches FindMarley.com.

But Marley isn’t the only one with secrets.

With public exposure comes scrutiny, and when Rachel blows a television interview, the dirty speculation begins. Now, the blogosphere is convinced Rachel is hiding something. It’s not what they think; Rachel would never hurt Marley. Not intentionally, anyway. But when it’s discovered that she’s lied, even to the police, the devoted mother becomes a suspect in Marley’s disappearance.

Is Marley out there somewhere, watching it all happen, or is the truth something far worse?

I received this book for free from Book From Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Don’t Try To Find Me is Holly Brown’s debut novel that came out last summer in hard cover and coming out this summer is Holly’s second book called A Necessary End. Which sounds like its going to be a page turner and I can’t wait to read it.

Don’t Try to Find Me is told in alternating points of view, that of 14 year old Marley and her mother Rachel. Marley is a fourteen year freshman girl in high school and through months of planning she has run away from home leaving behind a note saying “Don’t Try to Find Me”.  I was instantly sucked in because I wanted to know why did Marley run away from home?

It seems like Marley was your typical high school girl living in a small California town, she is an only child and she seems to have to loving parents. Seems like everything is good right? According to Marley its not as clean cut as you would think.

As the story progresses you see that not everything was perfect in Marley’s life. Yes she did have two parents in her life but they were basically just there to provide for her. There was no real interaction between any of them and it seemed like no one really cared about anyone. When Marley needed mental help her parents were clearly divided in that decision and it was up to Rachel to take her and this is where you wonder if something was actually going on between Rachel and the Dr. Could this be why Marley decided to run? Did she know something was going on between the two of them?

Was something going on between the two of them? I wondered that through out the book and I thought at times she did but honestly Rachel was telling so many lies throughout the book that I really had to question Rachel.

I really enjoyed the book and I was surprised at how fast I ended up reading it. There was a night that I stayed up a little longer then I should and times when t

One of the things I really enjoyed about the book was how Holly decided to touch on a subject of a girl meeting someone online and running away to be with them and then using the whole social media outlet to try and get her back.

 

Speak Your Mind

*