Review/ Love And Other Foreign Words Blog Tour

Review/ Love And Other Foreign Words Blog TourLove and Other Foreign Words by Erin McCahan
Published by Penguin on 2014-05-01
Pages: 336
Goodreads
Genres: Family, Love & Romance, Marriage & Divorce, Siblings, Young Adult

Perfect for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell, Love and Other Foreign Words is equal parts comedy and coming of age--a whip-smart, big-hearted, laugh-out-loud love story about sisters, friends, and what it means to love at all.

Can anyone be truly herself--or truly in love--in a language that's not her own?

Sixteen-year-old Josie lives her life in translation. She speaks High School, College, Friends, Boyfriends, Break-ups, and even the language of Beautiful Girls. But none of these is her native tongue--the only people who speak that are her best friend Stu and her sister Kate. So when Kate gets engaged to an epically insufferable guy, how can Josie see it as anything but the mistake of a lifetime? Kate is determined to bend Josie to her will for the wedding; Josie is determined to break Kate and her fiancé up. As battles are waged over secrets and semantics, Josie is forced to examine her feelings for the boyfriend who says he loves her, the sister she loves but doesn't always like, and the best friend who hasn't said a word--at least not in a language Josie understands.

I received this book for free from publisher/pr firm in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

SummerReadingChallenge2014

 

Welcome to my first review of the Book Sparks Summer Reading Challenge.

This is Erin McCahan’s second book, her debut novel was I Now Pronounce You Someone Else. I never got to read it but I do own it and I think after reading this I really want take I Now Pronounce You Someone Else off my trb to read,

You should know that these two books are not tied together. They are both stand alone’s.

The main character of the book is Josie. She is a almost 16 year old girl who at times is going on 30. She is very smart as she attends high school for half a day and then takes college courses the rest of the day. Josie thinks she knows it all when it comes to the real world and even though she is smart she is not street smart.

I have to say that I really liked Josie through out the book because she was this regular smart girl who knew it all and she could dish it out and spoke her mind. If she didn’t like you she let you know and I have to say that I really like that about people. She never sugar coated anything.

I loved how close the family was with each other. Their interactions with each other. You can see that they are a loving family although I think Josie worries more about her interactions with her sisters husbands/boyfriends more then she should.

When her sister Kate brings Geoff home to meet the family, Josie instantly hates him and wonders what her sister sees in this guy. I have to say when he was introduced I hated him with a passion and honestly I did throughout the book. I never did like him. I thought he was a little too cocky and know it all at times. I mean who goes to someone’s house and tells them they use to much basil in their sauce? No one that I know. I also think what he would say to Josie were a little hurtful (saying she has no friends) and what was with the wink he would always give her? That was a little creepy for me.

Josie tries to get her sister Kate to break up with him because she thinks he is no good and I have to say I think I would have probably have said the same thing. As Kate is getting ready to get married she turns into bridezilla and I started to really dislike her. I can understand the stress of arranging a wedding as its alot of work but some of the things she said to Josie were a little mean as you will find out when you read the book.

Will Josie be able to break up Kate and Geoff?

Throughout the course of the book you can see Josie trying to find a love of her own and she does actually see a guy in the book but ends up breaking up with him because she knows she will never love him and I thought that was so admirable of her, then she starts crushing on Ethan her instructor at collage, and then a shocker comes in the form of Stu a long time friend and neighbor of hers. Stu is just like Josie very smart and knows what he wants and won’t settle for anything less.

I really enjoyed reading this book and I will probably end up picking up a copy at some point to reread again.

 

Blog-Tour-Header-1loveandotherforeignwords

 

SummerReadingChallenge2014badge

Comments

  1. Sounds like a fun read!

Leave a Reply to Cindy Smith Cancel reply

*